Chanting can be a powerful way to calm the mind and open the heart. Kirtan (chanting) can also be a powerful unifying force. A simple reminder that we are not as separate as we think we are. The mantras we chant are universal themes that most can relate to like love, devotion, peace, and asking for help in times of need.

Here at LEAP, we are choosing to focus on the following three chants in the coming months (definitions adapted from Jai Uttal):

Sita Ram Sita Ram Sita Ram Jay Sita Ram

Sita is essentially the embodiment of devotion and loyalty, Sita also represents Lakshmi, the goddess of prosperity, abundance, good living on the earth and in the world. Ram (Rama) is an embodiment of dharma-integrity, solidity, and protection of the earth. Rama is an embodiment of Vishnu, the protector of the created universe, the one who preserves the stability of the worldly realms, the supreme consciousness. Jai means “joy, victory, or glory to.”

*Sita & Ram are recognized as a divine couple.

Om Hari Om Hari Om Hari Om
Sharanam Ganesha (repeat 4x)
Om Gum Ganapataye Namaha (repeat 4x)

Ganesa: the elephant-headed god, the son of Shiva and Pravati. Ganesha is the remover of obstacles and is incoked at the beginning of any endeavor.

Sharanam: refuge, protection

Ganapati: another name for Ganesha

Govinda Jaya Jaya Gopala Jaya Jaya
Radha Ramana Hari Govinda Jaya Jaya

This mantra has the sweet essence of the love-play of Radha and Krishna in the forest.

Govinda: Krishna

Jaya: joy or victory

Gopala: Krishna as a child

Radha Ramana: delighted by Radha

Hari: Krishna